4 Comments
author

OK, my husband has pointed out my Brave YES Zapper for a LONG time and, frankly, he's sick and tired of telling me to shift out of it. But, mine is ... perfectionism. I don't really consider myself a perfectionist, actually, but the truth is my expectations are VERY high -- of others but especially myself and especially my creative work. If my output isn't meeting my own expectations, I stall.

Once I figure out how to work around this block on a new Brave YES -- I make it happen FAST. Until then, nothing but starts and stops and long, long pauses of not doing the work.

I just figured out how to work around it for my next book, which is underway! (self-publishing!)

How about YOU? What's yours?

Expand full comment

YES to Perfectionist Monkeys that zap my energy. Start-Stop! I just posted about this horrible Brave Yes Zapper that showed up like Confusion. Still, the source of those muddy waters is wanting my graphic novel to be the best, most effective form it can be.

Although the Zap doesn't feel good, I am grateful for Brave work of going into the suffering to dialogue with this part of me that held an underlying, deep-seated Fear. You may find this process illuminating. -- and I'm very curious to know whether you believe in following these kinds of threads, for self-compassion. https://heartsquest.substack.com/p/monkey-breakthrough

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Shawn Fink | Braving YES

Hi Shawn, I went to read your reply on your pinned post and can't access that post anymore as its pinned for paid only.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you. That's weird. I think I need to change a setting that automatically paywalls posts more than 2 weeks old or something. But, it's fixed now!

Expand full comment